Neil Young has a new album on the way. On December 2, the ever-prolific rocker will release Peace Trail, the 38th solo record of his career and second of 2016.

According to a press release, the lyrical themes of Peace Trail continue the global issues Young has been singing about on his two most recent efforts, Earth and The Monsanto Years. “Each song is rich with Young’s typically inviting lyrical expression of his inimitable impassioned and heartfelt life-long humanitarian concerns which remain as topical and timely as ever,” the press release reads.

One of its tracks, “Indian Givers,” was released last month. It deals with the controversy surrounding the Dakota Access Pipeline, with Young siding with the members of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe against the construction of an oil pipeline near their reservation.

It’s mostly acoustic, with Young bringing in session legend Jim Keltner on drums and Paul Bushnell on bass. Young, Bushnell and Micah Nelson contribute background vocals on "My New Robot" and Joe Yanke played electric harp and pump organ. The record was recorded at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-la Studios, and was produced by Young and John Hanlon, who also mixed it.

Peace Trail will initially be available on CD, cassette and Young’s PONOMusic digital format, with a vinyl release coming in January. Pre-ordering it on his website will result in an instant download of the title track.

Neil Young, ‘Peace Trail’ Track Listing

1. “Peace Trail”
2. “Can’t Stop Workin’”
3. “Indian Givers”
4. “Show Me”
5. “Texas Rangers”
6. “Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders”
7. “John Oaks”
8. “My Pledge”
9. “Glass Accident”
10. “My New Robot”

Neil Young Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From WDBQ-FM