Tuesday, June 7, is Primary Election Day and is the final opportunity for Iowans to choose their political party nominees for the U.S. Senate, Congress, and the State Legislature.

Color image of some people voting in some polling booths at a voting station.
Photo Credit: bizoo_n

On Election Day, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Dubuque County voters can find their precinct polling place by visiting the County Auditor's website.

Iowans must be registered with a political party to participate in the primary election. However, eligible Iowans can also register to vote at the polls on Election Day.

Tuesday's victorious candidates will continue their campaigns to the General Election on November 8, 2022.

While redistricting has redrawn the lines for U.S. Congressional and statehouse seats, the biggest Primary election battle is the Democrat's U.S. Senate primary campaign. Tuesday's winner will be the nominee against longtime U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley, albeit a likely uphill battle.

Grassley has held the Senate seat for 41 years. He was elected to that office in 1981 and served in Congress starting in 1975 or 47 years in Washington, D.C.

Now 88 years old, Grassley was first elected to the Iowa House in 1959. Grassley's 63 years in public office present offers quite the contrast to his would-be Democratic challengers.

Former U.S. Rep Abby Finkenauer served one term in Congress, providing her the inside track to take on Grassley. Finkenauer's increased name identification in eastern Iowa and the backing of D.C. Democrats and the national political establishment will likely give her a much needed boost.

However, retired Navy Admiral Mike Franken has raised viable campaign funds to present a formidable challenge and his military background may be appealing to many Iowans. In addition, Minden City Council member Glenn Hurst is also seeking the Democrat nomination.

The Iowa U.S. Senate race along with all down-ballot races will be sorted out Tuesday evening after the polls close.

Did You Know Most Iowa Counties Have Their Own Flag?

We all know the state of Iowa has a flag, but each county? Of Iowa's 99 counties, a majority do in fact have a flag.

More From WDBQ-FM